Continent of South America

How Many Countries are There in South America?

How many countries are there in North America? There are 12 countries in South America.

To find out how many countries are on the continent of South America, we first need to find out some facts. For example, South America makes up about 3.5% of the earth’s surface and the total population amounts to about 415 million inhabitants.

According to CountryAAH, there are 12 states where some of the biggest cities are São Paulo, Buenos Aires and Rio de Janeiro. South America is also a continent bordering the Pacific Ocean to the west, the Atlantic Ocean to the east, Antarctica to the south and the Caribbean to the north.

The picture below shows the continent of South America.

Continent of South America

There are so many countries in the South America list

Read on to find out how many countries there are in South America. The list below presents the continent’s countries, including capitals and some brief facts.


Capital: Buenos Aires

The Republic of Argentina is South America’s second largest state and consists of 23 provinces and Buenos Aires which is an independent city. Argentina is the 4th largest Spanish-speaking nation in the world, second only to Mexico, Spain and Colombia.


Capital: Sucre

The multinational state of Bolivia borders Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Paraguay and Peru. Perhaps the most famous landmark is Lake Titicaca, which borders Peru. Here it is the extraction of tin and silver that has dominated the country’s economy for centuries.


Capital: Rio de Janeiro

The Federal Republic of Brazil is the world’s fifth largest state and South America’s largest state, both in terms of population and area. The country borders all other South American countries, with the exception of Chile and Ecuador.

The picture shows the famous statue Cristo Redentor in Rio

Cristo Redentor in Rio


Capital: Santiago, Chile

The Republic of Chile is located in southwestern South America, between the Andes and Pacific mountains. Some of the Pacific island groups also belong to the country, of which Easter Island is probably the most famous.

For international travelers, the somewhat bohemian Valparaíso and the beautiful seaside resort of Viña del Mar are probably well known destinations.


Capital: Bogotá

The Republic of Colombia is bordered by Brazil, Ecuador, Panama, Peru and Venezuela. Colombia’s most important export commodity is coffee, but many jobs are also generated by the country’s production of oil and gold.


Capital: Quito

The Republic of Ecuador is located at the equator in northwestern South America, bordering Colombia and Peru. Peru’s economy is dominated by the oil industry, but it is also the world’s largest banana exporter.


Capital: Georgetown

The cooperative republic of Guyana is located on the Atlantic Ocean, bordering Brazil, Suriname and Venezuela. Here is the English which is the official language and Guyana is known for its beautiful waterfalls.


Capital: Asuncion

The Republic of Paraguay borders Argentina, Bolivia and Brazil. The majority of the country’s inhabitants live in the southern parts of the country, which is divided by the Paraguay River. Paraguay is struggling with widespread poverty and has the lowest incomes in Latin America.


Capital: Lima

The Republic of Peru is close to the Pacific Ocean, bordering Bolivia and Lake Titicaca, which is the source of the Amazon River. Peru is also known for Machu Picchu and the mythical Inca culture.

The image below shows the Machu Picchu area.

Machu Picchu


Capital: Paramaribo

The Republic of Suriname is located on the Atlantic Ocean and is South America’s smallest independent state. A large part of Suriname consists of tropical rainforest and a very rich and varied fauna.


Capital: Montevideo

The Republic of Uruguay is also located on the Atlantic Ocean, bordering both Argentina and Brazil. Here, agriculture is the main industry, and many farmers raise cows on their own farms in the countryside.


Capital: Caracas

The Bolivian Republic of Venezuela is located in northern South America and borders Brazil, Colombia and Guyana with coast to the Caribbean and the North Atlantic. Venezuela also shares maritime borders with Aruba, Trinidad and Tobago and Curaçao.